Rumburgh parish council is an elected tier of local government. Seven councillors are elected every four years to represent the local community and a clerk is employed by the council as an advisor, administrator and responsible financial officer.


The Parish Clerk is Boyd Coote - Lodge Farm, New Road, Rumburgh, Halesworth IP19 0NJ

Telephone: 01986 785091



Meetings during the Coronavirus pandemic

The Local Authorities and Police and Crime Panels (Coronavirus) (Flexibility of Local Authority and Police and Crime Panel Meetings) (England and Wales) Regulations 2020 (“the 2020 Regulations”) came into force on 4 April. Broadly speaking, the 2020 Regulations enable local councils to hold remote meetings (including by video and telephone conferencing) for a specified period until May next year. They also remove the requirement to hold an annual meeting. The 2020 Regulations apply to local council meetings, committee and sub-committee meetings in England.

Rumburgh Parish Council will hold virtual meetings (via Skype at Rumburgh Parish Council) when necessary.  The Council await guidance from the UK Government as to when physical meetings can resume.





For events in the Village and the Village Hall, click on the Rumburgh Village Hall Website tab above.


Tree Planting

At their meeting on 8th January 2020, councillors agreed to the planting of a hedgerow on the southern boundary of the allotments, using trees provided by the Woodland Trust. This is part of an initiative by the Woodland Trust to help counter the loss of natural habitats for wildlife that have been lost on an unprecedented scale since the 1970s.

For more information, click on the following link:


Community Speed Watch Proposal

Rumburgh Parish Council are considering establishing a village Community Speed Watch scheme that will co-ordinate equipment and existing efforts with other local schemes already in operation.

It would be useful to establish:

1. How much of an issue speeding traffic in Rumburgh is considered to be.

2. Specific sections of road in the village where traffic speed is considered to be a nuisance or dangerous.

3. Whether anyone has an interest in being actively involved in the scheme.

Philip Cockburn has offered to be the co-ordinator, gather information and interest and provide updates on progress and statistics. He can be contacted either by e-mail at or by phone 01986 785444.

For more details of the scheme and how it works, see the Suffolk Community Speed Watch leaflet.